American Experimental Music, 1890-1940
by David Nicholls (9780521424646)

American Experimental Music, 1890-1940
David Nicholls
Release Date: 19 July 1991
Format: Paperback / softback
Pages: 252
Category: History & Criticism
ISBN: 9780521424646
ISBN-10: 052142464X

From the end of the nineteenth century a national musical consciousness gradually emerged in the United States as composers began to turn away from the European conventions on which their music had been modeled. It was in this period of change that experimentalism was born and America subsequently became, as it still is, a major source of new musical ideas for European musicians. David Nicholls considers the most influential figures in the development of American experimentalism, including Charles Ives, Charles Seeger, Ruth Crawford, Henry Cowell and the young John Cage. He analyzes the music and ideas of this group, explaining the compositional techniques invented and employed by them and the historical and cultural context in which they emerged. The book is thus an important contribution toward our understanding of some of the most challenging music of the twentieth century.

AUD $86.95

 This title is not held in stock & is ordered from suppliers, subject to availability.

View other David Nicholls titles like "American Experimental Music, 1890-1940"

Write a customer review of American Experimental Music, 1890-1940.

If you like this title please tell others:

tell others

post to your Facebook wall post on Twitter post on Digg recommend to Stumbleupon bookmark on Delicious RSS feed send to a friend

Australian BookShop
Australian Bookshop. Established 2003
Shopping Cart Customer Support

International Online Store
of Inspiration
we ship everywhere
Australia Post
Australia Wide