by DEL MAR (9780198165576)

Release Date: 01 Mar 1998
Format: Paperback / softback
Pages: 288
Category: 20th Century & Contemporary Classical Music
ISBN: 9780198165576
ISBN-10: 0198165579

This is the final book in the magnificent series of advice on conducting the repertoire that Norman Del Mar had been writing until his death in February 1994. As with the previous books, each chapter is devoted to a specific work, and once again all the major orchestral works of this important composer are covered. The book culminates in an important study of The Dream of Gerontius, and it was in the middle of this chapter that Norman was forced to lay down his pen. His son, Jonathan, himself a conductor, was with him in hospital helping him, and knew what line the chapter should take. He has now completed this and seen the whole book through the press with authority and devotion. Norman Del Mar renowned in his generation as the principal interpreter of English music and in particular for his understanding of Elgar. His explanations of the subtleties of guiding an orchestra through these magnificanet scores will be a lasting memorial to his lifework and invaluable help to all those who seek to clarify this elusive music. Elgar's own recordings are frequently drawn upon, but by no means always accepted, the changing fashions of interpretation being a constantly changing subject.

AUD $114.95

 This title is not held in stock & is ordered from suppliers, subject to availability.

View other DEL MAR titles like "CONDUCTING ELGAR"

Write a customer review of CONDUCTING ELGAR.

If you like this title please tell others:

tell others

post to your Facebook wall post on Twitter post on Digg recommend to Stumbleupon bookmark on Delicious RSS feed send to a friend

Australian BookShop
Australian Bookshop. Established 2003
Shopping Cart Customer Support

International Online Store
of Inspiration
we ship everywhere
Australia Post
Australia Wide