by DJ DREZ (0717147012727)

Release Date: 17 April 2012
Format: CD
Publisher: White Swan
ISBN: 0717147012727

JAHTA BEAT: THE LOTUS MEMOIRS offers listeners a chance to step inside the trippy world of DJ Drez, an L.A.-based DJ and producer with roots in the hip-hop and world music club scenes. It makes sense that these two influences would be chief among the sounds to proliferate on JAHTA BEAT, which also incorporates electronic effects, chunky techno beats and a nod to the type of relaxed Asian music commonly used with yoga practice. A typical track on the album might contain bansuri flute dancing among reggae-infused tabla beats, while sitars shimmer in the backdrop and electronic samples intermix in the foreground. Most songs travel at a smooth, even pace, and the rhyths are often complex, sometimes maintaining a straight acoustic sound and at other times venturing in urban club beats. Guest artists on the album include Domonic Dean Breaux, Marti Nikko, Deepak Ramapriyan and others.

Jahta Beat: The Lotus Memoirs CD by Dj Drez is a great collection of deep yogic grooves from the DJ who's been leading the charge in bringing live turntablism to the yoga class. Drez, a sought-after DJ in the underground hip hop universe, has laid down his beats in classes led by top-name yoga teachers such as Janet Stone, Shiva Rea and Micheline Berry.

On The Lotus Memoirs, the 4th release in his Jahta Beat series, Drez bridges the gap between these two universes, melding beautiful melodies, powerful voices and hip-hop beats into one forward-thinking and irresistible album.

Drez delves into blending yesterday's roots with the innovative urban beats of today. His gradual evolution from Hip Hop DJ to World Music Taste Maker has blossomed a litany of accomplishments that have garnered Drez the title as one of the highest ranking DJs and producers in LA's underground music scene. When he isn't in the studio producing, spinning at some underground Hip Hop club, or having impromptu late night jam sessions with local artists, you might find him on his mat. Drez is a certified yoga instructor who teaches privately in Los Angeles and spends time helping fellow musicians with their yoga practice at home and when away on tour. In addition, you will see him DJing yoga retreats and world music festivals from Europe to Asia or catch the latest on his accomplishments in the pages of magazines ranging from The Source to Yoga Journal. None of this is unusual for a true renaissance man like DJ Drez.

1.) Ganesh's Theme -3:59
2.) Nectar Drop -4:00
3.) Guru Mantra feat. Marti Nikko -4:19
4.) Wind Talker feat. Vijay Krsna & Domonic Dean Breaux -5:06
5.) Yearning
6.) Dreaming East -4:12
7.) Krishna's Dub feat. Marti Nikko & Domonic Dean Breaux -7:15
8.) House of India feat Arjun Baba -8:43
9.) For What It's Worth India Dub feat. Joey Lugassy -4:56
10.) Floating Sweetness -5:30
11.) Shri feat Deepak Ramapriyan & Domonic Dean Breaux -4:45
12.) Radha Ramana feat. Vijay Krsna -6:25
13.) Dragon Mudra feat. domonic Dean Breaux -5:22
14.) Selecta Move -3:19
15.) Om Hrim feat. Marti Nikko & Deepak Ramapriyan -4:40

AUD $24.95

    Listen to sampleThis title is not held in stock & is ordered from suppliers, subject to availability.

View other DJ DREZ titles like "JAHTA BEAT: THE LOTUS MEMOIRS"

Write a customer review of JAHTA BEAT: THE LOTUS MEMOIRS.

If you like this title please tell others:

tell others

post to your Facebook wall post on Twitter post on Digg recommend to Stumbleupon bookmark on Delicious RSS feed send to a friend

Australian BookShop
Australian Bookshop. Established 2003
Shopping Cart Customer Support

International Online Store
of Inspiration
we ship everywhere
Australia Post
Australia Wide