Like Eating a Stone: Surviving the Past in Bosnia
by Tochman Wojciech (9781846270871)

Like Eating a Stone: Surviving the Past in Bosnia
 
Tochman Wojciech
Release Date: 28 July 2008
Format: Hardback
Pages: 112
Category: Post Ww2 Conflicts
Publisher: Granta
ISBN: 9781846270871
ISBN-10: 1846270871



This is a searing portrait of the human devastation wrought by the Bosnian wars, and their aftermath - told through the stories of those who are left alive and looking for their families and their remains - by a young writer who has all the makings of a Kapuscinski or a Gourevitch.This book is suitable for readers of Philip Gourevitch, Janine Di Giovanni, Timothy Garton Ash, Slavenka Drakulic, Fergal Keane, Michael Ignatieff, Anna Funder, Misha Glenny.During four years of war in Bosnia, over 100,000 people lost their lives. But it was months, even years, before the mass graves started to yield up their dead and the process of identification, burial and mourning could begin. For many, the waiting, the searching and the suspended grieving still continues.Here we travel through the ravaged post-war landscape in the company of a few of those who survived, as they visit the scenes of their loss: a hall where the clothing of victims is displayed; an underground cave with its pale jumble of bones; a camp for homeless refugees; a city now abandoned to the ghosts of painful memories; and a funeral service where a family finally says goodbye. These encounters are snapshots and memorials, capturing a jagged moment in a community's history as it is still flinching from its raw and recent past, not quite yet able to believe in a possibility of a peaceful future.

AUD $39.95

 This title is not held in stock & is ordered from suppliers, subject to availability.


View other Tochman Wojciech titles like "Like Eating a Stone: Surviving the Past in Bosnia"



Write a customer review of Like Eating a Stone: Surviving the Past in Bosnia.



If you like this title please tell others:

tell others

post to your Facebook wall post on Twitter post on Digg recommend to Stumbleupon bookmark on Delicious RSS feed send to a friend


Australian BookShop
Australian Bookshop. Established 2003
Search
Shopping Cart Customer Support


HolisticPage
International Online Store
of Inspiration
we ship everywhere
Australia Post
Australia Wide
.
Worldwide