Music of My Future: The Schoenberg Quartets and Trio
by Reinhold Brinkmann;Christoph Wolff (9780964031715)

Music of My Future: The Schoenberg Quartets and Trio
Reinhold Brinkmann;Christoph Wolff
Release Date: 15 December 2001
Format: Hardback
Pages: 208
Categories: Chamber
Publisher: Harvard University Press
ISBN: 9780964031715
ISBN-10: 096403171X

Schoenberg's quartets and trio, composed over a nearly forty-year period, occupy a central position among twentieth-century chamber music. This volume, based on papers presented at a conference in honor of David Lewin, collects a wide range of approaches to Schoenberg's pieces. The first part of the book provides a historical context to these works, examining Viennese quartet culture and traditions, Webern's reception of Schoenberg's Second Quartet, Schoenberg's view of the Beethoven quartets, and the early reception of Schoenberg's First Quartet. The second part examines musical issues of motive, text setting, meter, imitative counterpoint, and closure within Schoenberg's quartets and trio.

AUD $44.95

 This title is not held in stock & is ordered from suppliers, subject to availability.

View other Reinhold Brinkmann;Christoph Wolff titles like "Music of My Future: The Schoenberg Quartets and Trio"

Write a customer review of Music of My Future: The Schoenberg Quartets and Trio.

If you like this title please tell others:

tell others

post to your Facebook wall post on Twitter post on Digg recommend to Stumbleupon bookmark on Delicious RSS feed send to a friend

Australian BookShop
Australian Bookshop. Established 2003
Shopping Cart Customer Support

International Online Store
of Inspiration
we ship everywhere
Australia Post
Australia Wide