Old Scores and New Readings (Dodo Press)
by John F Runciman (9781406584806)

Old Scores and New Readings (Dodo Press)
John F Runciman
Release Date: 01 December 2007
Format: Paperback
Pages: 132
Category: Music
ISBN: 9781406584806
ISBN-10: 1406584800

John F. Runciman (1866-1916) was the author of Old Scores and New Readings (1901), Wagner (1905), Haydn (1908), Purcell (1909) and Richard Wagner (1913). "Many years ago, in the essay which is set second in this collection, I wrote (speaking of the early English composers) that "at length the first great wave of music culminated in the works of Tallis and Byrde... Byrde is infinitely greater than Tallis, and seems worthy indeed to stand beside Palestrina. " Generally one modifies one's opinions as one grows older; very often it is necessary to reverse them. This one on Byrde I adhere to: indeed I am nearly proud of having uttered it so long ago. I had then never heard the Mass in D minor."

AUD $11.95

 This title is not held in stock & is ordered from suppliers, subject to availability.

View other John F Runciman titles like "Old Scores and New Readings (Dodo Press)"

Write a customer review of Old Scores and New Readings (Dodo Press).

If you like this title please tell others:

tell others

post to your Facebook wall post on Twitter post on Digg recommend to Stumbleupon bookmark on Delicious RSS feed send to a friend

Australian BookShop
Australian Bookshop. Established 2003
Shopping Cart Customer Support

International Online Store
of Inspiration
we ship everywhere
Australia Post
Australia Wide