Salt
by Jeremy Page (9780670038688)

Salt
 
Jeremy Page
Release Date: 19 July 2007
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 322
Category: Literary
ISBN: 9780670038688
ISBN-10: 0670038687



A haunting, evocative portrait of three generations of a family by an exciting and inspired new voice in fiction
It is the summer of 1945 in Norfolk, England, and when Goose comes upon a German soldier buried neck deep in the mud of a local salt marsh, she pulls him out and brings him home. Nine months later, he vanishes in a makeshift boat, leaving Goose behind with a newborn daughter, Lil. Taught to read the clouds by her mother, Lil is curious and her childhood strange. When she becomes the object of two brothersa desire, her life takes a tragic turn.
Fifteen years later, it is Lilas son, Pip, who attempts to make sense of his familyas intriguing history. Pip, who never utters a word, is alone and isolated in his mute world and is beguiled by the lovely flame-haired Elsie who lives nearby. Pip comes of age among the marshes like the generations before himabut will the misfortune of his familyas past repeat itself through him?
"Salt" is a family saga that explores the relationship between people and the landscape in which they live. Atmospheric and lyrical, Jeremy Pageas debut novel is revelatory in its use of language. For fans of John Banville and Marilynne Robinson, "Salt" signals the introduction of a significant writer.

AUD $41.95

 This title is not held in stock & is ordered from suppliers, subject to availability.


View other Jeremy Page titles like "Salt"



Write a customer review of Salt.



If you like this title please tell others:

tell others

post to your Facebook wall post on Twitter post on Digg recommend to Stumbleupon bookmark on Delicious RSS feed send to a friend


Australian BookShop
Australian Bookshop. Established 2003
Search
Shopping Cart Customer Support


HolisticPage
International Online Store
of Inspiration
we ship everywhere
Australia Post
Australia Wide
.
Worldwide